Dreams and Meanings: Dream A Little Dream…

Dear Reader,

I’m soooooooooo tired. Ugh. Sleep shall have to wait for now… Important things to write about!

What you ask?!

Dreaming, of course! …. Kinda backwards, I’m tired, I should be dreaming right now. Details, details….

Anyway! Dreaming is such an interesting event in our lives. Some people remember most of their dreams while others feel they don’t dream at all. – You are missing out if you do not dream. Everyone dreams…. Just some don’t remember….

I normally snuggle down into bed and possibly watch something I’m currently breezing through….recently I’m watching: Supernatural, American Horror Story, Or anything on BBC iPlayer. Or I will read a chapter of a good book before settling to bed. Or both. Not at the same time.

I have been so freakin’ tired these past few months. I put it down to stress mainly. But, I can’t seem to get off to sleep easily. And when I do, I can have the most vivid dreams ever.

Few so far? (Briefly)

– Walking through my back lane, with a friend, when the friend decided to help me I hugged them so tightly, I woke up.

– Flying, trying to get messages on small bits of paper to others, for a friend. And seeing Castiel… Yes, from supernatural… Holy… This dream was weird, man. Also had an ocean in it, a ledge and children in it or rather a class watching the headteacher and other teachers swim a race.

– Running through a forest with wolves only for it to change back to my home where it is raining and I’m doing some mundane rubbish.

– Exploring a HUGE mansion house and having my own secret hideaway place. – It had so much detail! (So awesome.)

… So, these dreams are all pretty cool in their own rights, and I just wish you could be in my head and experience them, because when I have a fun, nice vivid dream, it is ….just so awesome. I don’t want to wake up. The scary vivid ones … not so much.

Dreaming is all about the subconscious, and mine is doing back-flips at the moment. I’ve been thinking so much it’s just beyond itself with motivation, to be imaginative and give me one hell of a ride.

I’m a dreamer, and like to understand my dreams as I try to figure out their hidden meanings. To how I would personally fit them, as it creates an opening to my subconscious to a better knowledge of myself.

You may or may not agree, and just enjoy dreams for what they are. Little adventures in the minds-eye.

If you are interested in finding out what your dreams mean, I implore you to grab/buy a dream book. Or go online to dreamdictionary.org! There are lots of other websites you can find, just this one popped into my tired head first.

There’s not really been a final answer to why we dream, or why people have similar dreams. Researchers have been scratching their heads to try and figure it out for definite. Though we can guess it’s because most humans go through the same feelings, emotions, wants and fears. In which conjure up the stimulation to have the same type of dreams for instance; falling, water, death, people, school, flying, houses, food etc. Thus it’s understandable that people can relate to one another when people say “I had the strangest dream…”

Scientists have come up with theory’s as to why we dream… Sigmund Freud believed dreams were our repressed thoughts. Our deepest desires that could only be expressed through dreams. He was however mainly talking about sexual desires. Although Its a common dream for humans… I dread to think what he dreamt about every night.

In 1973 Allan Hobson and Robert McCarley, claimed that dreams were random electrical brain impulses, which pulls imagery from our memories. By trying to make sense of our memories the brain then creates stories from the information/imagery.

This one makes a bit more sense, as it can explain the mundane realism we get in our dreams mixed with the wild card of strange.

Now if you are trying to recall your dreams but struggle to after half a day is gone. Don’t be alarmed. It’s very common for a person to lose over 80% of what they have dreamt by the end of the day. Kinda sucks. If you want to remember a quirky, crazy dream that you feel might mean a thing or two about your waking life. A few tips to help you remember are:

  • Dream Journals. Hand written, stored on phone/laptop etc.
  • Try to wake up slowly and try to remember the dream when you wake up, when you are still in bed.
  • Sounds weird but before you go to sleep, tell yourself you want to remember your dream.
  • Tell them to someone else. Recalling them when you wake up can make them feel more “real” and you are more likely to remember them.
  • Get plenty of rest, so you don’t wake up groggy.
  • Experiment for what works for you. (Everyone is unique, it’s a matter of finding what suits you)

Noting down your dreams, especially when going through a hard time, can be useful to find any patterns in your dreaming realm. You might figure out if there’s anything troubling you, that even you didn’t realise was an issue! Be warned though that not everything has a deep meaning to it….

Sometimes, a cigar is just a cigar.– Freud.

Thanks for reading, it’s time for me to go into the depths of slumber now so…

Until the next time ~

Photo: http://desktopwallpapers.biz/wp-content/uploads/2014/09/Starry-Night-Sky-Iphone-Wallpapers.jpg

Published by

SESCH

[Write something clever and interesting here]

Leave a Reply

