If It’s Worth It Keep Trying: Finally A Success Story…

Hello again reader,

It stands to reason that in life; you get out what you put in.

I went for my second interview on Wednesday (at a school) and I couldn’t have been happier walking through the school gates. Weird, huh? I’ve always enjoyed being in school. I wasn’t the person I’d call a “goodie-goodie” in school. I was quiet, so I got away with a few things. Teachers liked me and I got on well with a lot of different people. I had a good reputation, and was there for people who were in trouble. Even the people who you’d stay away from normally, liked me. Probably because I gave them a chance and tried to help them, rather than judge them. Which I have taken with me into my adult life, however for most of school I was depressed. People were normally very surprised when I told them about my home life growing up. I’m the typical – “She’s always smiling and being helpful” labelled person. … We won’t go into this right now though – story for another time.

So, my interview went really well on Wednesday. I had a test on writing something to do with introductions. I was a bit miffed that I didn’t have a test on my maths, since I was ready for it. Then had an observation done, where I went into a classroom, helped some year 7’s – lovely group of kids. People tend to stay away from Parkway in my town, with good reason too. Although I don’t particularly like the area I would be more than happy to help the children in that area. As I know how it feels to be less well off than others and have a bit of a troubled background. Not just through myself but from the people I used to know growing up.

After chatting to the members of staff and having a good time, I went home with mixed feelings. I couldn’t describe it, I just felt that I hadn’t got it, even though the interview went well. I was being interviewed for a Secondary position (something I wasn’t aware of until I got there) It all felt… Strange.

Needless to say, I got a phone call that day with the response of – “…I have two things to tell you – one, unfortunately you didn’t get the job and secondly, we’d like to offer you something in the primary school…” – say what?

I went back to the school on Friday to go through the process again. Primary school children…. Is a much better fit, they were completely right with that one. I completed a small activity of reading a book with them and the task was to find the adjectives. I was really pleased with their efforts and said thank you to them, which they responded with a big “thank you for seeing us!” … It was adorable.

So I wasn’t sure If I was going to get the job. It’s not good to necessarily assume you will get something. I might have been terrible! The good news is, I wasn’t. They have offered me the job!

After all that hard work, it’s great to finally say – I’ve got what I’ve been wanting for all these years. To work in a Primary school as a teaching assistant (TA) with children from all kinds of backgrounds and to start making a positive difference.

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well.” – Theodore Roosevelt
Until the next time!

Picture From – http://inspirationboost.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/05/19-Keep-Trying1.jpg

Published by

SESCH

[Write something clever and interesting here]

Leave a Reply

