Forcing myself out of my “comfort zone”

*Yawn* My comfort zone being my bed that is. Day one, in preparation of getting good sleep and waking up early so that I can function for work in a few days. My accomplishment today is that I actually woke up when my alarm went off… Baby steps…

Hello reader! I trust you are having a good new year? If you’ve had the holidays off at all, now would be around the time when you are getting ready to get back to work. Ugh. Not that it’s a bad thing, it’s just for people like me, it takes me a while to get back into a decent routine.

This routine that I’m getting myself into, is a completely new routine as well hence new job, new routine and such. But it’s worth it. I’ve given myself plenty of time and before ya know it, I’ll be getting up early and even going for a quick run – full of energy. …Though, not right now. I’ve managed so far to wake up, turn my alarm off, slither out of bed to quickly to go to the toilet and wash my face to wake up a bit and then… slither back into bed and wrap the blankets around me. If I’m honest I was a little surprised to see it’s still dark outside this early. Even though I should have completely expected it. Thankfully it should be getting a bit brighter early in the mornings, bit by bit now.  Furthermore hopefully by this time next year I’ll have something to drive so that I wont be walking long distances in the dark. Might need to get something reflective for the road…. hmm.

Getting out of bed is hard.  I used to find waking up early no problem at all, but after being out of work for three months, it takes it’s toll… do you ever have this issue? It doesn’t help when firstly, you can’t sleep because you’re thinking too much. Secondly, vivid dreaming isn’t the best kind of dreams. I enjoy the dreams (if they are pleasant dreams) but I tend to wake up more tired if I have vivid dreams. (That’s another story though)

One thing that’s good about my plan to start waking up early is that after four days of easing into it, I should have hardly any issue when I get up for work for real. Sure, it means sacrificing the late nights but it’s not so bad to get back into routine if it means saving myself later.

Hearing cars go past my house so early in the morning makes me feel a bit sad. People start work too early. Sunrise (according to BBC Weather) isn’t until … 8:16am … 8:16am!? Ugh… there should be laws against this. If anyone has to start work before it gets light then it should be called a night shift. Haha, get paid extra for unsociable hours! Or just because it’s dark and gloomy.

I joke  I half joke. I don’t like the idea of walking so early in the morning when it’s still dark I have to admit. The same time in the spring or summer? No problemo. Hmm, I’m sure it’ll be fine. Worrying sleepily over nothing…

That being said, I’m so tempted to go back to sleep. Aha, writing this with one eye open. This is a bit like pillow talk. When you’re too tired to function as you would normally so you talk a load of “rubbish” that you probably aren’t going to remember in the morning. Obviously just the cuddly, “intimate” type of talking. Don’t even think about it, pervert. You’re welcome. In all seriousness, I am freakin’ sleepy. … And suddenly hungry.

Day two of getting a better routine of sleep for work: accomplishment? Actually staying out of bed for longer than two minutes. I feel getting ready, is a day three job. Might be pushing it for tomorrow – if today is anything to go by…

Hope you are doing a better job of getting up early than I am at the moment! What time do you have to get up for work? Is it ridiculously early? Or do you work a nine to five type deal? How do you make sure you get up in the morning?

Thanks for reading!

Until the next time~

Published by

SESCH

[Write something clever and interesting here]

Leave a Reply

