Of Tea and Muffins

Hello again reader, and friend/s (just incase)

The events of this week are as follows:

1) Wake up

2) Go to work + work butt off

3) Go home

4) Eat and get ready for the day ahead

5) Sleep

*Repeat until Friday night.

– Ah, the working.

Working, is great. People get bored of their job, I don’t. Probably never will. The only part of the job I don’t like is not being able to be at home. Haha, sounds lazy I know. But when you aren’t working, you get to do everything you want to do. There is no schedule – except eating and sleeping. Even then you can decide. However I have found at work that I can have a cuppa tea whenever I want. So… It’s not all that bad.

After trying desperately to get a job, and it being the job I’ve always wanted, sure the pay isn’t fantastic but what you get out of it is good. Thus, it’s worth it in the end.

Yet it’s nice to have a moment to relax and to come online and just waffle on about nothing in particular. These brief moments is something I miss in my working week especially. Even on the weekends I don’t seem to stop. I ask – where’s my “me” time?!”

It’s good, if I’m honest to keep busy and get things done. It just makes these moments even more special and I’m glad I get to share it with you.

It’s 3:45pm, when I last looked at the clock it was 1pm. This shows how busy I have been, on a weekend as well. I always seem to find myself helping other people with their endeavours…I don’t know about you reader, but it’s nice to do someone an unexpected kindness every once in a while. My dad is now looking for a new job. He’s not the spring chicken he once was so I offered to help him out. It just takes some of the stress off of him. I never once thought when I was younger that I’d be helping my father out with something like this, or anything at all for that matter. (Another story.) Just goes to show you what forgiveness can do and also what growing up can do to a person.

It doesn’t take a lot, to do something kind for someone else like this. Even if you don’t know them. If they look like they are having a hard time or even struggling with their shopping. It’s kind to lend a hand if you can. Worst case scenario – they say no. But that’s okay, at least you’ve checked and don’t need to worry about them. Maybe you don’t worry anyway because you don’t notice? Step back and take a look at what’s going on around you. There’s a bigger picture to see, and you might be able to do something good. Not only will helping them make them happy, but it will make you feel good too! The plus side being, it’s not like having to work or do a chore to help someone who needs it. It’s actually a stress relief.

Back to the point, it’s good to have a little bit of “me” time. Don’t you think? During the week I get so little of it. As people are either calling or coming to me and asking me for help, advice or just to hang out. I wouldn’t change it for the world. Despite this though, I can’t help but enjoy a cup of tea and a blueberry muffin all to myself, on my own, watching something good on my laptop that I’m interested in at the moment. (At the moment, it’s re-watching Black Books – lovin’ it!) Curling up in my many blankets and just relaxing for an hour. It’s just… nice. No stress, no worries just me and whatever I feel like doing. Might even be reading a book. (I’m tackling the Morganville Vampire series by Rachel Caine at the moment. Onto the second book! – I don’t mean to advertise but if you are interested in that kind of book, I recommend it! Go check it out!)

If you don’t get any “me” time, ask yourself “why not?” It’s good for you and your mind to have that time for yourself. You shouldn’t feel bad for wanting time alone. Or even if you don’t like to be on your own for a while it’s good to try it. It gives you that balance back, leaves you alone with your thoughts. You can work things out in your mind, look through things properly without being interrupted. Also it let’s you do what YOU want to do without having to go along with someone else’s schedule.

It’s tough if you have a family of your own to make time, but it’s not impossible. Take turns with the children, your other half or if you are on your own – a trustworthy adult will be able to look after your children for an hour or two while you relax your stress from the week away. It’s healthy for body, mind and soul for you to take an opportunity to do it, so why not?!

Also if you have a partner and you live together, again it’s not impossible to have time alone. In fact both individuals should have some time alone to themselves once in a while. I personally – you may disagree – think it’s unhealthy to be in each others “pockets” 24/7. Being at work, doesn’t count! I’m talking about complete alone time. No ifs or buts on this one.

So from this moment on, I would like you dear reader, to liberate yourself if you aren’t doing so already to take an hour or two back for yourself. Claim it, own it, it is yours to do whatever you see fit! Been busy all week? Take time to relax. Or go for a walk or bike ride. Let your mind relax and not worry about anything for a while. Re-charge that mind of yours!

Drink some tea… eat a muffin. It’s all good to me.

Thanks for reading

Until the next time ~

Picture from – http://www.adagio.com/images2/custom_blends/305.jpg (such a tasty picture, kudos to the person who took this)

Published by

SESCH

[Write something clever and interesting here]

Leave a Reply

